Monthly Archives: June 2012

Public Forum: June 27th

Posted by Matt on June 20, 2012
Uncategorized / No Comments

Disability Disclosure for Employment and Community Integration

• Listen to experts explain what the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) has to say about disability disclosure in the workplace.

• Hear employers, employees, and job developers and consumers talk about their experiences with this complex issue.

• Share your stories about disability disclosure. Was it helpful? Do you have advice for others?

Wednesday, June 27, 1-6 p.m.

Roseville Public Library
Community Program Room
2180 North Hamline Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55113
651-628-6803

Agenda: Continue reading…

The ADA at Work with You

Posted by Matt on June 19, 2012
Uncategorized / No Comments
Tuesday, July 24, 2012 6 – 8 p.m. Goodwill/Easter Seals Minnesota 553 Fairview Ave N., St. Paul, MN Free!

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is federal legislation that prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities. Despite the passage of this important legislation 22 years ago, some people with disabilities still experience discrimination in the workplace. Attend this event to learn more about how the ADA protects you if you are working, looking for a job or have been terminated.

Cindy Tarshish, ADA Minnesota, will discuss:

  • Disclosure of disability
  • Reasonable Accommodations Discrimination
  • Your rights
  • Resources available to you.

Continue reading…

ADA 22nd Anniversary

Posted by Matt on June 19, 2012
Uncategorized / No Comments

Come celebrate the 22nd Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act

Thursday, JulyCelebration banner 26, 2012
1-3:30 p.m
U of M Urban Research and Outreach-Engagement Center
2001 Plymouth Avenue North
Minneapolis, MN 55411
EVENTS
  • U.S. Department of Justice attorneys will give updates on 2010 regulations & current implementation
  • Motivational speaker Dana Zimmerman
  • Entertainment by artists & performers with disabilities
  • Light refreshments
  • FREE to everyone!
DETAILS

2012 Accessible Technology Webinar Series

Posted by Matt on June 19, 2012
Uncategorized / No Comments

The Great Lakes and Pacific ADA Centers on behalf of the ADA National

Network are pleased to announce the 2012 Accessible Technology Webinar
Series.    Electronic information and communications technology have become
essential tools in all areas of our lives and working environments today,
and are particularly important to people with disabilities by providing
equal access to the workplace and social media.

Please join us for our 2012 webinar series as we explore some of the latest
technological trends and their accessibility to people with disabilities.

All sessions are free and scheduled for 2-3:30pm Eastern/1-2:30pm
Central/12-1:30pm Mountain/11-12:30pm Pacific utilizing the ElluminateLive!
webinar platform.

2012 Schedule:

Continue reading…